MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   5.0L General Discussion (https://mustangforums.com/forum/5-0l-general-discussion-87/)
-   -   Might be getting a fox (https://mustangforums.com/forum/5-0l-general-discussion/594176-might-be-getting-a-fox.html)

kenny17 04-01-2010 12:19 AM

Might be getting a fox

first post outta the s197 section pretty much.. im completely new to anything other than s197s
Well due to financial issues i might have to get rid of my '06 in the near future, but i cant really stand not having a mustang and always had a liking for foxes. Ive been looking around at some fox bodys in my area and found a couple that i like. Just some questions are there issues with high mileage on these? The only ones ive found have 100k+ miles. Whats an average price for a decent looking fox with that kinda mileage? Another thing.. ive never owned and only drove a stick one time in my life.. but im pretty set on getting a manual for my next mustang, some people say some cars are harder to learn on than others.. so would this be a good car to learn stick on? Sorry i probably sound like a tool asking questions like these.
Also, Im going to be driving this car alot so do they hold up pretty well as daily drivers?

TrimDrip 04-01-2010 01:37 AM

100k isn't much on 5.0. my experience, the ones without forged pistons seem to last longer without using oil. Either should be fine.

The problem with a lot of the cars back then is, Ford decided they wanted a car to do 150 mph but, instead of giving them more power, they put gears in the rearend that would get it there. My 93 was fine because of the 3.27 gear stock but, some have gears in them that are a pain to drive slow because they jerk so much from being geared so high. With that said, they are not hard to drive at all. A lot easier to drive than a 4cylinder truck in my opinion.

I would drive one before I buy because, you will most likely want to modify it to be quicker.