5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

A couple of questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 01:04 PM
91Five0GT

Default A couple of questions

Okay, so about two weeks ago I bought my first fox. I wanted one since I was young and finally got one. Well I'm pretty new to working on cars and based on some searching and what a friend has told me I have blown head gasket. There appears to be oil leaking from the head, I have oil in my coolant reservoir, and there is some white smoke when I rev it past about 3,000 RPMS. I just want to make sure if I go to the trouble of pulling everything off that I find out a new head gasket/heads don't fix my problem. I figure I want GT40 heads anyways so that will knock out the possibility of a cracked head.

Another issue I'm dealing with is my airbag light blinks 10 times, stops, then does it again. Based on some google searching there's basically a way to decipher what this means. Provided I won't get fined for it, I have no problem replacing the wheel with a Grant or MOMO wheel. So my next question is, does anyone know if it is legal to remove the airbag from a vehicle made in 91 in CT?

Also, the car only has 83,000 miles on it and is mostly original except is has a cold air intake and Flowmaster mufflers.

If you read all this, thank you.
Old 08-17-2011, 02:49 PM
AdderMk2
Banned

Originally Posted by 91Five0GT