Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

2011 GT, 6spd is making squeaking noises in the rear driver side wheel.

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2010, 05:29 PM
sekiface

Angry 2011 GT, 6spd is making squeaking noises in the rear driver side wheel.

A noob here. Bought it about a month ago, with 6speed and 3.73 differential. I'm still breaking it in, but the car has developed a squeaking sound in the rear driver side wheel when I slow down, and also when I'm just driving, especially when turning right. Has anyone else had this issue? I'm going to bring it in next week to the dealer and demand some a solution!
Old 11-05-2010, 05:06 AM
captcarb

Check the lug nuts.
Old 11-13-2010, 12:11 PM
sekiface

So I took it to the dealer, and it turns out it wasn't the lug nuts. The rear axle had a bend which wasn't supposed to be there obviously, and it was causing it to rub against the brakes, thus leading to the squeaking sound. So the axle shaft had to be replaced. I demanded a good explanation as to how something such as this can happen despite the car being driven very carefully for a mere 900 miles. The dealer can only say that it's a factory defect. Nice one Ford. I think this may be the last Ford I ever buy...
Old 11-13-2010, 12:43 PM
VistaBlue
2nd Gear Member

So, you had a non-life threatening problem with your car, took it to the dealer, who then replaced the problem part with out a problem or complaint?

I can totally see why you wouldn't want to buy Ford again. Man, screw that good customer service stuff, I want a dealer who spits in my face!
Old 11-13-2010, 11:56 PM
JIM5.0
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by sekiface