Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Shaker 1000 Warranty Replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 03:04 PM
GrubbDawg

Default Shaker 1000 Warranty Replacement?

I am bringing in my baby so the dealership can take a look at a squeeking noise with the drop top. Since this is my first time at the dealership, they asked me if anything else was wrong with the car.

My shaker 1000 will fritz out on me around once a week. It will start skipping and drive me crazy. This is in an early 2006 model.

1. Should I insist they replace the head unit?

2. Is it supposed to play MP3s burned from iTunes? (it dosent)

3. How can I tell if my head unit is Sirius ready?

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-23-2008, 01:58 PM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Shaker 1000 Warranty Replacement?

the head units in fords has always been a week spot. You can complain, and they will fix it, and it will break again.
Old 01-23-2008, 02:19 PM
macdadtexas

I have the same car, in blue, and the first thing that I did when I bought it, was remove the entire audio set up. With the top down it just did not have the juice to listen to music while driving.

I would suggest replacing the head unit and all the speakers, and getting seperate power amps to push the speakers. Also, MTX and JL Audio (if you want a higher end unit) make form fitting subs that fit in the trunk to replace the Shaker 1000 system. I know it's your money I'm spending (LOL) but it looks like you already have done a lot of great work to the car, and this just adds to it. Also, audio eqiupment can, and should in most cases, be bought used (head units and amps always, sometimes subs and speakers) and then if you decide to sell the car, and you don't think you will get any love for the extra audio gear, put in the factory stuff and sell the gear.