Carolina Regional Chapter Chapter President: HT

Bob's Mufflers in Raleigh

Old 04-11-2011, 04:01 PM
New2V8

Default Bob's Mufflers in Raleigh

So I hope that I'm putting this in the right section. I was driving around NC State's campus and had to get a few things before work. I stumbled upon a shop on Tryon Rd named Bob's Mufflers. THESE GUYS ARE AMAZING! I went to go look at what they had for our cars and prices and was blown away. One of the guys told me that he could do gutted glass-packs for $88 a muffler and would only take about an hour to do. Now I am in no way a car guru, I'm just learning about cars and such but this seems like a good deal. I was just wondering if this is a good buy and would it effect my emissions passing? I was posting this in the Carolina Chapter cause I was wondering if maybe someone else has done business with them or even heard of them?
Old 04-11-2011, 08:39 PM
94Blk5.0
5th Gear Member

Any muffler should pass incpection granted it's not leaking, etc... I am not sure what they mean when they say "gutted" glasspacks... I see no reason to gut a glasspack. Anyway most glasspacks are around $25-35 + install. If you want an agressive tone, they are what you want. Skip gutting anything though.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:00 PM
New2V8

Thank you for the information. I was incorrect in my description. They wanted to empty the glasspacks out from what I understand. I have done some research on this so that I limit the stupid comments but glasspacks normally get louder overtime due to the fiberglass not absorbing as much as when they are new correct? I just don't want the car sounding like a Honda lawnmower lol.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:07 PM
HasABetterSN
3rd Gear Member

I've seen that shop, I know they did really good work on my buddy's 280zx. I remember him saying they seemed really strict on anything emissions related, so any work they do will definitely pass
Old 04-12-2011, 05:11 PM
New2V8

Cool