Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

69 Mach 1 with 40k miles

Old 05-05-2013, 06:54 PM
MustyMach1

Default 69 Mach 1 with 40k miles

Hey everyone,

Just joined the site, thought I would post an introduction. I was recently given a 1969 Mach 1 H code from my grandfather. It is the H code 351 windsor 2V with the FMX 3 speed tranny and white interior. 40k original miles and almost completely stock. Seems like the only unoriginal parts are dual exhaust, paint, and tires. But I have limited knowledge with mach 1's. Thats why I joined the site!

It needs a little bit of attention but for the most part it is extremely clean. The radiator leaks once it is warm so it looks like that will be my first project. I am trying to figure out what direction to go. I am torn on keeping it bone stock vs making it a little more economical to drive. This is where I would love to hear some opinions.

Here are some mods that I have floating around in my head:
Either patching the radiator or replacing with a 3 row brass or aluminum
Electronic ignition
4 barrel carb
Power front disc brakes

Most importantly here are some pics!

Old 05-05-2013, 07:09 PM
DocSnickers
3rd Gear Member

That kind of car will never be economical to drive just will not happen. Since it's already close to stock I would keep it that way. It's going to be worth a lot more if it's kept stock and you ever go to sell it.

You MPG will take a nose dive with a 4 barrel on it. Plus you would have to change the intake to support the 4v.
Old 05-05-2013, 07:46 PM
Waffles
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by DocSnickers
That kind of car will never be economical to drive just will not happen. Since it's already close to stock I would keep it that way. It's going to be worth a lot more if it's kept stock and you ever go to sell it.

You MPG will take a nose dive with a 4 barrel on it. Plus you would have to change the intake to support the 4v.
And cam.