MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   Classic Mustangs (Tech) (https://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech-16/)
-   -   1967 Long Shaft Steering Box Removal (https://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech/322435-1967-long-shaft-steering-box-removal.html)

Cargon 07-25-2007 02:40 PM

1967 Long Shaft Steering Box Removal

I've been working on my 67 fastback for almost 4 years now and all the little things are finally coming together.

My next project is going to be replacing the manual long shaft steering box. I have about 3" of play and I've read the FAQ link and have a good idea of what needs to be done, but I had a few questions. Any help would be appreciated.

First:
Is the steering column connected to the steering box at all? Or is it just seated against it?

Second:
In the FAQ walkthrough it said that removing the driver side engine mount would be necessary, but didn't go into detail on how to do that. While removing the mount, does the engine need to be supported? If so, where is the best place? Does the car need to be jacked up by the rails, or can I drive it up some ramps?

Any insight or personal experience would help tremendously.

Edit: This was the Flaming River box I was going to buy.
http://mustangunlimited.com/itemdy01...atKey=EMUSTANG

66GTKFB 07-25-2007 02:47 PM

RE: 1967 Long Shaft Steering Box Removal

The term 'long shaft' means just that - it'slong and it cannot be separated.
To remove the box, it's a whole bunch easier without an engine in the way. The method you want to try and what youquestioned aboutthe engine mountsleaves me to say - pull the engine.
Jim

Cargon 07-25-2007 02:56 PM

I understand the shaft inside the column is connected to the box, but I'm referring to the column itself.