Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Newbie wants to learn

Old 11-10-2007, 04:31 PM
YoShImUrA

Default Newbie wants to learn

Hi there!

I am a newbie from Europe. I've always loved the classic'Stang (specially the '68 fastback from Bullitt) and now, maybe, with some luck, I will be able to make my dream come true of owning one. I'd like to use it for some street driving on sundays with an ocassional dragat the track.
I am studying yet, so time and specially budget are not very high, but since I'm in no rush to find my perfect "project ready" car (or morelike: a neat bodyshell), first of all I'll try to know this car as best as I can.
So far I know very little of it and that's why I registered. I hope to learn its details on care, rust, problems...and maybe one day, the joy of its drive, the sound, and the whole damn thing!

I'd like to ask a couple of questions. Since I'm very biased to the 67-68 fastback, after sayingthat, I believemy "options list" of engine and box are very wide, but I got one thing clear for sure, it has to be a V8and the gearbox a manual (preferably with only the original 4 gears) but apart from that it doesn't really matter. Since I don't know if an original auto box can be easily converted to manual, is it compulsory to buy an original "manual car" or its quite easy to adapt an auto to being a manual? Same question applied to the V8, if it's originally an auto, can it easily be made a manual? Hope my lack of knowledge doesn't bother anyone but I couldn't find any good reference book. (Btw, would you recommend me any good book or source to learn morabout the 68's history, restoring, tuning, etc?)

Thanks for reading!
YoSh
Old 11-10-2007, 04:52 PM
baddog671
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie wants to learn

Yosh, welcome to MF! Glad to have you aboard. Where at in Europe exactly are you from?