Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Security and alarms, also hey to everyone....

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2010, 05:28 PM
superdavid
4th Gear Member

Default Security and alarms, also hey to everyone....

Hey, its been a while since I've been on here. I got married, had a baby, and now I'm tyring to finish up school (mech engineering).
Alright so here's the thing: I just moved my family into married housing on campus, and as a result we only really need my wife's car. This is making me want to bring my ride down over spring break from my dad's shop where its been sitting. However, occasionally stuff gets stolen from around campus. I go to a private university that is absolutely top notch in every way, but the ghetto has grown up around it.
Previously, I've had no need for security, but if I bring it down I want a good alarm. Any ideas? I have lots of electrical experience, but none with alarms. I'm not too worried about anyone stealing the car as it will be right outisde and those dual flowmaster 40's dumped are loud enough to wake up everyone on the block. My main concern is someone knocking out a window and jacking my audio.
Old 01-22-2010, 05:36 PM
kalli
6th Gear Member

hiya! havent seen you for a while. ya, there is people stupid enough knocking windows for a 50$ radio on those cars, my experience. I wouldn't take it too easy with the flowmasters. that car can be on a trailer in a minute
Old 01-22-2010, 05:40 PM
superdavid
4th Gear Member

It would be pretty hard to get it on a trailer without someone noticing. Its going to be parked in about a 20 car lot surrounded by housing thats full of my friends. Many of them have bikes on their porches or in the parking lot, and they seem to be ok. If anyone sees anything fishy they'll give me a call and I'll come out shooting. Mainly I just want something to make some racket and wake up the neighborhood if someone starts tampering with my ride.
Old 01-22-2010, 05:55 PM