Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

'65 289 vs newer 302

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2011, 10:38 PM
rusty65
1st Gear Member

Default '65 289 vs newer 302

Hey guys!

Im new to the mustang forums and i have so many questions for you all, but first id like to start with a few about potential motors...

I am looking into picking up a 1965 mustang coupe with an unmodified 289 and an automatic transmission (ugh!) this weekend, but i am concerned about the power output of such an engine. Now, before i begin i would like to say that i am not at all concerned with keeping the mustang "original", matching #s, etc. I am after a nice looking mustang that performs well solely for my own enjoyment as a daily driver (with some umph, of course).

I dont know the exact mileage on it, but it seems to me that an older motor like that will need to be rebuilt at the very least. However, would a rebuild of a 289 net a comparable amount of hp at the rear wheels to a newer, say 1980-1995, 302 built up from a block? I know some people seem say that a smaller yet older v8 will push just as much if not more hp than a newer one due to smog and emissions constraints. Yet, where i live there are no emissions tests and i could realistically drive it down the road with no cats or any other emissions control devices of any kind and nobody would say a word to me about it, so that may shift the balance in favor of a 302, yes?

The three options i am entertaining at the moment are:

1) rebuild the 289 it has with good quality parts in hopes of ending with a motor that offers a good bit of power without throwing my gas mileage in front of the bus

2) build up a 302 from a block this summer (already have the space set aside just in case) with only minor experience with my 86 f150s 302 (been doing my homework though!), allowing a mechanic/machine shop to do the really intense stuff

3) buying a 302 crate motor thats ready to drop in