MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   Classic Mustangs (Tech) (https://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech-16/)
-   -   1966 Ignition Switch/Cylinder Help (https://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech/657754-1966-ignition-switch-cylinder-help.html)

planetjb 11-16-2011 06:51 PM

1966 Ignition Switch/Cylinder Help

Hi Everyone,

Brand new to the forums.

I recently decided to repaint the interior of my 1966 Mustang Coupe.

In that process, I decided to pull out the gauges.

I also purchased a new ignition switch and cylinder.

I'm a novice when it comes to cars so I followed the instructions for installation from this youtube page:

Well..it didn't work.

I have power to the car, the AC works, the radio works, but when I rotate the key over to 'start' nothing happens. No clicking, no noise, no nothing.

Any tips/advice would really help me out.

Thanks!

MustangFTW 11-16-2011 07:54 PM

did you double check the wires that go into the ignition, the part that he pulls off right around 2mins has a back cover, pull that off and take a look inside, you should see 4 wires(?) connected into 3 slots, make sure there in there good.

if you didnt mess with anything under the hood this is the only thing i can think off, unless one of the wires stripped from rubbing up against metal and shorted.

jojobanks 11-16-2011 08:00 PM