Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.
Old 10-20-2015, 10:17 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Brakes
Print Wikipost

Brake lines- DO IT YOURSELF

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2012, 12:08 PM
goldrush031619

Default Brake lines- DO IT YOURSELF

I have a 69 mustang coupe. I have manual drum brakes on all four wheels. I would like to replace all the brake lines. I've found only 1 set from California Mustangs that are "Pre bent" for $137. Our should I just buy straight ones from O'Reillys auto and try to bend them my self? I have no experience with the bending tool to do it myself, so I'm wanting anyones thoughts on how easy or hard it is to learn how to bend the tubes. And is it worth the savings or just spend the $137 and get them already bent?

Thanks for the input,
Joe
Old 05-29-2012, 12:17 PM
eZ
5th Gear Member

I would buy the straight ones and teach yourself how to bend them. Buy a good bending tool not a cheap one. Watch a youtube on bending the lines its very easy. That way if you do any mods (disc breaks, 9 inch rear etc.) to the car in the future that require you to relocate the lines a diff way you can do it.
Old 05-29-2012, 12:19 PM
keithnra
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by eZ
I would buy the straight ones and teach yourself how to bend them. Buy a good bending tool not a cheap one. Watch a youtube on bending the lines its very easy. That way if you do any mods (disc breaks, 9 inch rear etc.) to the car in the future that require you to relocate the lines a diff way you can do it.
x2 its not hard to do
Old 05-29-2012, 12:19 PM
goldrush031619

Great advice, thank you. I will surely be upgrading in the future to disc brakes
Old 05-29-2012, 03:22 PM
jlg2002
4th Gear Member