Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Advice needed on 67 Mustang

Old 08-03-2010, 09:22 AM
Novice-Owner-Marc
2nd Gear Member

Default Advice needed on 67 Mustang

Hello everyone,

My name is Marc and I recently bought a 1967 Ford Mustang Coupe off of eBay. I got it home and stored away. Here is a little more background. I bought the car from a body shop that had restored all of the body and frame with new parts and removed all the rust. They also put a 5 lug 9 inch rear axle, and updated all of the brake system to disc brakes. The car does not have a transmission or engine. So with all that explained here are my issues/questions.

1. Does anyone have a suggestion on which engine I should put in it?
2. Since only the body and whatnot are done, does anyone have suggestions on what I should work on next?
3. Should I reinstall the fuel tank and gas link or the engine or what?

I am completely new to Mustangs, and restoring cars. So if anyone can give me help, I would be very appreciative.

Thanks in advance. Talk to you all soon.
Old 08-03-2010, 09:39 AM
kalli
6th Gear Member

as for the engine, the 9" should hold up a lot.
Since you don't have transmission and engine, you can match them up no problem. i think in such cases money is the deciding factor on what guess in there as well as taste. how do you want to drive this car and how much money do you want to spend? what is the gearing in the rear axle and is the rear open or llimited/locked?

as for what to do next. If I had the car in it's shell I'd proceed with avoiding rust if that hasn't been done by the body shoip. maybe put in insulation. If you plan to re-do the electrical wiring, this might be a good point to start it. I leave this to them who have done it before.

do you have pictures?
Old 08-03-2010, 11:00 AM
Novice-Owner-Marc
2nd Gear Member