Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Straight 6s forever!! You won't believe this story :)

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2006, 06:38 PM
bryanvw61
2nd Gear Member

Default Straight 6s forever!! You won't believe this story :)

I'm a high school auto teacher and am restoring my 66 coupe. Its a rolling chassis with no usable motor, but the parts car came complete with a straight 6. Well the parts car hasn't run in atleast 10 years and has been just rotting away.

Now I teach my kids that for a car to run, you need 3 main things, compression, spark, fuel.

So the students and the other auto teacher a few weeks ago decided to check for compression... at first there was little, but once we got the cylinder walls with a little oil, the numbers got right up near 100. Compression.... Check

Then we try to see if we can get spark... nothing. but we quickly notice that the points are toast. we go into a drawer in the shop and find an old set of points that matches closely, we didn't even check the dwell or anything, just through it in. Bingo... Spark... Check

We pour some fuel down the carb and she does bark, and barks nicely, no loud knocks or anything.... however exams come and it sits for a few weeks.