Convertible Tech This section is only for questions or information relating to a convertible. Questions about drivetrain modifications should still be posted in the engine specific sections.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just got my '89 Vert - LOVE it but....

Old 09-08-2008, 11:47 AM
orcusomega

Default Just got my '89 Vert - LOVE it but....

... it has a few "Issues" (we'll call them opportunities for upgrades).

First off, I have been building Jeeps for the last 8 years, so things that don't work are generally OK on a Jeep - in the case of my Mustang, thats not the case.

I got a 1989 GT Convertible for $1800 w/ 129,000 on the clock... I got it for an around-town car as I build it up, but there are a few things that require immediate attention. You comments are welcome!

1) Brakes - They suck, so I am gonna replace them all - master cyl, hoses, rotors, drums, shoes, pads, and replace the fluid (there is some contamination). My first cut is to use OEM parts just for the cost, but I am open to suggestions. I am not gonna be racing it, just having fun

2) The top is SHOT - mechanically it goes up and down pretty smoothly but the canvas has seen better days. Can anyone recommend a good replacement source? I am considering 50resto.com's kit, looks complete, and I only need the canvas (not the back window necessarily).

3) My rear windows are fubar. They don't go up and down, and they certainly are not rgid - seems like the tracks are off, or whatever. I have not had the chance to pull them out to inspect - but any pointers would be appreciated.

4) Headlights are clouded (I know, a common problem apparently). I am leaning towards one-piece replacements for about $130 for the set. Again, nothing fancy, just has to work.

5) The weatherstriping needs to be replaced - and I have found the kit at 50resto.com as well. It doesn't look too hard, just time consuming. Any recommendations or comments?