Convertible Tech This section is only for questions or information relating to a convertible. Questions about drivetrain modifications should still be posted in the engine specific sections.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

00 Mustang Top go up slow

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2012, 12:53 PM
Narayanchip

Default 00 Mustang Top go up slow

Hey guys, i got a Mustang 00 v6 3.8 manual convertable, i got the top problem.., it go up slow , the right side go up first then the left start go up, and then sometimes it will go really slow up or it just stop and won't go up at all, i checked for some leaks and i didn't found anything.., im located at Houston Tx 77063 and couldn't find anyone that will want to give a look at that, im new to the states and have no tools to give it a check by my self.. there shops that told me if we start u might end up in 4k $ and im not wiiling to spend that much on something i know i can do by my self if i got the tools.., il be happy to hear some advices and maybe there is someone from the area that willing to check it up with me and do it by our selvs.., not asking for free fix but asking for some help , the motors do a sound that it strugling but im not sure if its cuz of the hedraulics or not to much fluid.., sorry for the long thread.. just don't know what to do.

Thank you very much guys.
Old 04-12-2012, 02:30 PM
Schmalgar
3rd Gear Member

I had the same problem on my last convertible. Regarding one side going up first, it was because that side was actually rubbing on the inner wall of the car when coming up. I don't remember exactly what I did, but I think there was a rubber seal or something that had come a little loose and I was able to push it back into position, and after that it raised evenly.