Detailing Discuss detailing and the appearance of your ride inside and out here.

Painting my car at home.

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2006, 11:19 PM
DJ19895.0
2nd Gear Member

Default Painting my car at home.

Ok, i've decided to paint my car at home. Before you all say that i am getting in way over my head, I know what incredible labor is involved and i have my entire summer vacation to do it. Its probably going to take like 200 hours, correct? I am going to take it down to the metal because i dont want it to chip and i want it done right, no matter what. My current paint is terrible and it is chipping like crazy, another reason to take it all the way down. I have no experience in body work or painting but at my auto tech school i walk over to auto body and watch painting movies and try to learn as much as possible before summer. I have read many articles on the net that are all different and i am getting confused. I want an ok looking paint job that will last. My questions are as follows. How do i take my plastic body kit, molding, and fiberglass hood all the way down with out screwing them up. Should i use a single stage paint because it is easier to use or go with a base coat and clear. What is the cost of EVERYTHING except a compressor. I was thinking like $1000-1300. What are some tips form people who have attempted a similar project. Thanks!!
Old 04-26-2006, 02:01 AM
Jimmz
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Painting my car at home.