General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Is anyone good with painting with the rattle spray paint can?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2006, 12:35 PM
Vash the Stampede
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Is anyone good with painting with the rattle spray paint can?

either way iam doing it my self.. i had friends who painted their whole car flat black and it turned out rather well..

also.. i posted this same thread on a few forums and alot of people told me it should be a prety easy job and its prety hard to mess up a flat black paint job. and having it even doesn't really matter because its flat black.. it will never look even if it was even.

my main concern is how much sanding i should do.. i have 400 grit sand paper.. is JUST scuffing it up good enough? or do i need to make sure all the clear coat is gone?
Old 07-03-2006, 01:01 PM
Color by WEASEL
2nd Gear Member

I paint for a living so here goes. NO, you do not have to remove the clear coat. If anything it is a buffer for your new product to not "eat" into the old paint. It you sand through the clear and into the "base coat" you may get wrinkling or bullseyes around the area sanded. Use a degreaser FIRST. You do not want to sand the wax into the finish. Use a chemical cleaner then water, then wet sand with 400 grit. You will be hard pressed to get an even spray with cans on the hood area as it is much larger than some bumper. As far as the heat, you have it coming from inside and out, again not like a bumper. Not to mention it is ALWAYS on top getting beaten by the sun. It should only be like a couple hundred bucks to get it right. Me, I would paint the entire hood to eliminate a decal looking job from the ridge. I would prep the whole hood, scoop off, mask and spray the stripes. Unmask the stripes and paint the entire hood with clear coat. It will be smooth, even, and last forever. Rustoleum is good for tricycles and railing, but the hood of you