General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

steering wheel shaking

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 11:44 PM
Noreen

Default steering wheel shaking

Hi, I am new to the Fourm and I am hoping that someone can give me some advise. I have a 2006 Mustang GT and I have been having a problem with the steering wheel shaking intermittenly. It started shaking about 2000 miles I took it in and they balanced the tires it was good for a short time by 3500 miles shake back I took it in they said they put the wrong weights on the tires. Took it back again after about another 500 miles they balanced the tires again not knowing the problem, when back a short time later they changed the tires they started cupping. No long after that went back again then it was one bad tire, next they tried changing the drive shaft, balaced tires again. I have been going crazy then they started well the steering wheel is suppose to shake. I called Ford they said that there is no problems reported like this. They are not doing anything. I took it back again my sales men saw the shake and he said it needed to be checked. Sheduled appointment the head mechanic said it is normal for a Mustang. I said not good enough so they brought in a engineer and he put a machine on it and said it is normal. Now I am not sure what to do or what to have them check, any suggestions.
Thanks
Old 02-09-2007, 12:16 AM
Archion
4th Gear Member

Default RE: steering wheel shaking

There is a SSM (Special Service Message) on the tires about ride issues and developing odd issues especially in cold weather, it is on the crappy Pirellis, there is no solution as of this time, this is more than likely your issue, the only thing I could say is talk to a Pirelli dealer they would handle the warranty on them, not Ford. See what they say.
Old 02-09-2007, 12:41 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT