Introduction and Need a little help ('95 GT) - MustangForums.com

General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Old 02-05-2005, 12:36 AM   #1  
EladEflow

Default Introduction and Need a little help ('95 GT)

I just wanted to introduce myself to a group of people who know infinitely more than I do when it comes to the Ford Mustang the came into my life. I'm a Premed student at Ohio University and right before I started my first quarter my Dad let me in on the fact that he bought my aunt's babied '95 Mustang GT. She let him have it for $2000 and it has been absolutely babied it's entire life, it only has 79,000 miles on it.

Well when I aquired it we immediately noticed that the engine was being held back somewhere, I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the word but I do have some common sense and some general knowledge of cumbustion engines. Well he was deployed to Korea before we could thoroughly look into it. So I figured I'd change the plugs and wires because by the look of the top of them they looked really old and they were pretty rusted. Well the actual metal at the bottom (Don't know the name) they all looked greyish/tan so the mixture seemed right. But I pulled one plug out and it had a chunk of carbon completely bridging the gap. So I'm sure that the cylinder wasn't firing at all because the electricity would of simply traveled through the carbon instead of jumping the gap. So the new plugs and wires really made a big difference but it isolated a problem she said she's had since she bought it new in '96. She said it's always been "jerky." She took it back to her dealership a few times and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it but went ahead and replaced the motor mounts. Well still after 79,000 miles it still exists, it seems to either be in the tran or drive train. I guess I should explain the problem....