General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Won't go into 1st,2nd, or Reverse & excessive shaking

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 09:24 PM
NGUSPEED

Default Won't go into 1st,2nd, or Reverse & excessive shaking

I'm new to the Mustang scene, but I'm hoping you'll can help shead some light on my situation.

I have a 1996 3.8L V6 Base Mustang Convertible 5spd. The car has 82,250mi on it. Here is the situation, When I come to a stop, after 30+ minutes of drivetime, I throw the car in neutral. When I try to put the car in 1st it doesn't go in. It almost feels as if it is blocked. I proceed to put the car in 2nd, and the same problem. So then I put the car in 3rd and then pull it back out and put it in 1st. It goes into 1st gear, but not without force, keep in mind the clutch is depressed all the way and I have yet to move the car still. After I put it into gear, I give it gas and start up. The car then starts to shake excessively. At first I thought I wasnt giving the car enough throttle, but that doesnt seem to be the case. I have to tap the gas and rev the car up and down while letting off the clutch to minimize the shaking.

This situation also happens when I try to put the car in reverse after driving it.

1. Is anyone experiencing or has experienced this same problem?
2. Can someone tell me what it could be?

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

***** Saturday February 23, 2008 Update *****

Here is an update. I've been driving the Mustang this week on my regular commute and the weather has been pretty cold. The shifting has been fine. Im realizing that the issue only occurs when it is warm out, after 30min of drive time, im guessing when the transmission temperature warms. I hope this information helps out.

Old 02-19-2008, 10:07 AM
indisposible_teens
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Won't go into 1st,2nd, or Reverse & excessive shaking