General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2 questions: Convertible top and Paint job

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2005, 01:07 AM
Lazarus

Default 2 questions: Convertible top and Paint job

I have two questions that I hope someone can help me with.

First, I have a few small holes in my vinyl convertible top. The biggest is about an inche long and maybe a quarter of an inch wide. Are there any ways to fix these without getting a new top? Any ways for me to fix it myself because I am a poor college student?

Second, I have a nasty scratch on the hood of my car that is about 16 inches long and a few millimeters wide.. It's been there since I bought it and it looks like someone tried to "key-it". I can't afford a new paint job and I've heard horror stories about the little touch-up paint you can buy at Wal-mart. Is there anything I can do cheaply to fix it or at least make it appear less noticeable?

Thanks so much!
Old 07-15-2005, 01:09 AM
Lazarus

Default RE: 2 questions: Convertible top and Paint job

Oh yeah, one more thing...

On the "washing your baby" thread, I noticed that someone suggested gojo to use on vinyl convertible tops. Is this really the best thing?

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-16-2005, 03:53 AM
Lazarus

So no ideas on this subject?
Old 07-16-2005, 04:07 AM
blueangelfightr
5th Gear Member

You can get a touch up kit from an auto store near you and it usually matches the factory paint. It would be even better if you knew the paint code. The way to fix your holes is maybe duct tape from the inside so you can't see it or maybe even a needle and thread and stitch it together. Just some ideas for you. Good luck!
Old 07-16-2005, 11:59 AM
GreyStang
5th Gear Member