General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Protect your electronics

Old 08-24-2010, 10:50 PM
JIM5.0
5th Gear Member

Default Protect your electronics

I don't know if I am posting in the correct place as I am still relatively new to MF, but I was wondering if it is possible to protect your car's ECU, radio, and other electronics from EMP?

We all remember what happened to Canada like 10 years ago. Solar flares (CME) let out a rather powerful discharge of EM energy such that when it hit the Earth's atmosphere in Canada, their electric grid when down and electricity was lost to millions of people. I do not know if electronics were fried too (TVs, radios, etc.)

Considering that EMP does not have to be created by a nuke attack, and it can come from the Sun or even geological discharge (from earthquakes for example, and you don't even have to be anywhere near ground zero), I sure would hate for my car to have its loads of electronics fried (ECU, radio, and all the other electronic gadgets in every car today).

If anyone knows how to shield, upgrade, or fortify the electronics against EMP, do tell.
I know CME and geological discharges are 9 times out of 10 harmless, but you never know. And besides, some malicious folks can make EMP devices that do not rely on a nuclear bomb to create EMP energy waves.
Old 08-24-2010, 10:59 PM
08Steeda
3rd Gear Member

You can wrap your car in lead blankets! But short of that, there is no practical way to do it.

But I will ping my USAF Avionics buddies and ask them how they do it for fighters.
Old 08-24-2010, 11:10 PM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

It can be designed into systems, and is often designed into military and industrial systems where your ground functions as a system shield....up to a point at least. But it has to be designed into the system. Trying to come behind it and add later usually is not very effective.
Old 08-24-2010, 11:19 PM
JIM5.0