General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Gas fumes in cabin, rough idle, power loss - PLEASE HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 03:02 PM
Bumblebee_GT

Default Gas fumes in cabin, rough idle, power loss - PLEASE HELP!

See what had happened was...

It all started with a feeling only the driver of the car can explain. She just wasn't running right. The only way I could describe what was happening is it felt like a loss of power. It seemed like more work than normal to accelerate and shifting wasn't smooth. The car started to "jack rabbit" and I've been driving it for 3 years without that issue. I know how to drive a stick.
I went to a shop who charged me $100 for a diagnostic which came back with nothing. They couldn't seem to find anything wrong with it. The mechanic suggested that one of the "butterfly valves" might not be opening/closing properly based on the issues I described and said I could try to clean out my engine with sea foam.
A few days after that my CEL came on. I ran by Autozone and they said the code showed my alternator was going bad.
I took it to a different shop recommended by a family member who said it wasn't the alternator, but that I needed new spark plugs. They replaced the plugs and the fuel filter.
A few days later my CEL came back on, the smell of gas fumes was coming out of my vents (it only happens when the car is stopped and it's strong enough to make me feel sick), and my car still wasn't driving any better than what I originally described.
Frustrated, I took the car to a third shop who told me my alternator was bad. They replaced it and gave me a new battery. They told me the fuel cap code was coming up and replaced it as well. The gas smell went away and no lights were on.