General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Adding muscle to my 2010 V6...

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2013, 02:30 PM
Baddjiujiu

Default Adding muscle to my 2010 V6...

I'd like to add some aggressive power and sound to my 2010 V6 mustang. It's an automatic and a daily driver so I don't intend to get too crazy, but I'd like to get above 300 HP. I've been looking at different exhausts, cold air intakes, and headers. I am new to performance parts and have little knowledge of various brands and designs but I've been trying to read up a bit to figure what's best for me.

My question is what should I start with? I was thinking exhaust, as I feel it would give me immediate sound/looks while increasing my HP.

My next question is, how much will it increase my HP? and will it positively or negatively effect my gas mileage?

If possible, I'd like to have more of a rumble like a V8, but I don't know if that's realistic.

Any suggestions on brands and models? Should I start with something other than exhaust?
Old 01-17-2013, 04:42 PM
E_cox310
2nd Gear Member

You can improve your exhaust, but it won't sound like a V8. I say the best starter mod will be a nice axle back exhaust then CAI/Tune. Then after that you may think about getting your hands on some headers. And exhaust is personal preference, I could name a few for you, but it comes down to what YOU like and not me.
Old 01-17-2013, 05:15 PM
Baddjiujiu

Originally Posted by E_cox310
You can improve your exhaust, but it won't sound like a V8. I say the best starter mod will be a nice axle back exhaust then CAI/Tune. Then after that you may think about getting your hands on some headers. And exhaust is personal preference, I could name a few for you, but it comes down to what YOU like and not me.
thanks for the reply, any recommendations would be great. Why axle back and not cat back?
Old 01-17-2013, 05:25 PM