General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

1970 mach1 351c falls on its face when i hit accelerator.

Old 07-18-2014, 01:12 AM
MachRog

Default 1970 mach1 351c falls on its face when i hit accelerator.

Hi all. First post here.
Need help with my 1970 mach1. Its a*351c*2v with fmx trans. I just put an edlebrock manifold and 650 carb on it but am unhappy with performance. Just to set the record straight, i am by no means a tuner. Im a novice at best with the engine but im learning and not afraid to jump nto the engine.*
The engine idles nice and sounds like a beast when i rev it in park. No issues at all...no bogging, hesitation, or loading up. But when im driving and hit accelerator, it bogs down and falls on its face. It will backfire sometimes. I can creep the*gas pedal*up but if i press down too much on accelerator, it almost always bogs.

Ive looked over alot of posts on here and have found alot of good info but none are exactly my issues. Im thinking it may be the new carb needing adjustment, but am unsure.
Any and all help would be appreciated.

Im just looking to get her running good. Engine sounds and revs good in park or neutral.
Rog
Old 07-18-2014, 01:34 AM
jimkaray
4th Gear Member

Your dumping in too much fuel when you go full throttle. I'm get you started but I'm rusty with carbs so hopefully someone will jump in with some specific adjustments and part changes. You'll want to swap out the power valve/spring assembly for one that will add less fuel. Is this a mechanical or vacuum secondary carb?
Old 07-18-2014, 08:55 AM
88 orangepeel notch
6th Gear Member

+1 ^^^

" IF " it was running good before the carb swap. Check for vacuum leaks also. Maybe a port on the new intake or carb not plugged.
Old 07-18-2014, 09:02 AM
MachRog

Originally Posted by jimkaray