General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

best cheap rear rotors and pads?

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2017, 10:06 AM
rextos
1st Gear Member

Default best cheap rear rotors and pads?

Need to replace my rear rotors and pads, 06 gt, 60k miles...i feel like 60k miles is a bit early to have brakes wear out already, especially since i'm a pretty conservative driver! so i don't want to go OEM again.

Also I can't tell, are the OEM pads ceramic? if not is it good to use ceramic pads on these cars?

i was looking at these 2 kits on AM, which should i get?

xtreme stop?

http://www.americanmuscle.com/xtreme...rear-0510.html

or hawk performance?

http://www.americanmuscle.com/hawk-s...rear-0514.html

I know lot of people get HPS type pads for track performance, but my car is a DD/fun cruiser so I don't want those 'performance brakes' that you need to warm up to get working properly. just want what is best for DD.

thanks!

Last edited by rextos; 06-22-2017 at 10:10 AM.
Old 06-22-2017, 12:00 PM
Z28KLR
4th Gear Member

Either I'm sure would be fine, but it looks like you'll be buying none of the above since both are listed as "out of stock".

Both are street use pads, require no warming up or whatever.
Old 06-22-2017, 01:53 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Originally Posted by rextos
Need to replace my rear rotors and pads, 06 gt, 60k miles...i feel like 60k miles is a bit early to have brakes wear out already, especially since i'm a pretty conservative driver! so i don't want to go OEM again.

Also I can't tell, are the OEM pads ceramic? if not is it good to use ceramic pads on these cars?

i was looking at these 2 kits on AM, which should i get?

xtreme stop?

http://www.americanmuscle.com/xtreme...rear-0510.html

or hawk performance?

http://www.americanmuscle.com/hawk-s...rear-0514.html