MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Tech (https://mustangforums.com/forum/general-tech-6/)
-   -   Shop recommends cleaning of fuel system and vent system (https://mustangforums.com/forum/general-tech/737547-shop-recommends-cleaning-of-fuel-system-and-vent-system.html)

kevsgt 05-14-2019 09:36 PM

Shop recommends cleaning of fuel system and vent system

Got my Takata passenger airbag replaced finally, and the Ford dealership did their standard multipoint inspection. They recommended a fuel system cleaning (which I assume means the fuel injectors). I'm guessing this was just based on the mileage, and perhaps just trying to get more $ out of me. I've never done this before, but figure it can't hurt. Given the high mileage, Should I just try using Seafoam, or is there a process for removing the injectors for specialized cleaning (myself or at the shop)?

Car is 2006 GT with 140k miles, running a 93 octane tune.

They also mentioned a vent system cleaning. What might that mean?

Derf00 05-15-2019 01:42 PM

Originally Posted by kevsgt (Post 8651797)
Got my Takata passenger airbag replaced finally, and the Ford dealership did their standard multipoint inspection. They recommended a fuel system cleaning (which I assume means the fuel injectors). I'm guessing this was just based on the mileage, and perhaps just trying to get more $ out of me. I've never done this before, but figure it can't hurt. Given the high mileage, Should I just try using Seafoam, or is there a process for removing the injectors for specialized cleaning (myself or at the shop)?

Car is 2006 GT with 140k miles, running a 93 octane tune.

They also mentioned a vent system cleaning. What might that mean?