Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Newbie Wheel size question, tire size

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2006, 01:20 AM
SWO4Life

Default Newbie Wheel size question, tire size

Hello all, I'm sure this will make a few guys chuckle - but after driving a stock wrangler for 10 years - and my moms Camry before that, I'm new to the considering performance. I bought a 2006 GT a week ago, and the car I had stocked over the internet actually had dealer installed 20 inch wheels which was a suprise to me when I got to the dealership. Anyway, I loved the way they looked, so I went ahead and bought it. :-)

When I got home, I started doing some research on 20 inch wheels on the new Mustang, and thats the first time I actually became aware of what tire specs meant etc - I went out to take a look at my tires - and lo and behold, I have 275/30/20 on the FRONT and 245/35/20 on the REAR.

Based on what I've read here and elsewhere, those wheels are in the wrong place? typically it would be 245/35/20 on the FRONT and 275/30/20 on the REAR -

am I right here? and is there any possible reason that the dealer would have installed them the way they came? or was it 100% a screw up?

Could it ever make sense to have wider wheels on the FRONT of GT?

appreciate the responses in advance - chuckle if you must, I don't mind, just looking for a def. answer so I can get my *** to the dealership tomorrow and have them switched
Old 06-27-2006, 01:37 AM
06GT4RAD
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie Wheel size question, tire size

ORIGINAL: SWO4Life