Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Help! My new 2007 GT is too refined

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2006, 04:56 PM
howyhowy
1st Gear Member

Default Help! My new 2007 GT is too refined

Hey all, newbie here, sorry for the long post…

I picked up my 2007 GT Premium 5spd convertible yesterday and boy am I disappointed!

I‘ve spent the last 12 hours searching the web for what to do and I think this killer forum is going to help make me a happy camper again…

Here are my problems (most annoying first) compared to my 2002 GT vert.

Throttle-Lag
Cant do a descent burnout / break stand (AC and TCS off)
Can’t hear the exhaust
Gooey RPM drift
Shaker 500 playing MP3’s unreliably
Shaker has too much subwoofer bass
Quick ratio steering is not so quick?
Hood needs some character
High profile tires feel like big balloons – I kinda expected that

I still have my 2002 GT vert 5spd (92kmiles all stock) for comparison. When I ordered this 07 in June I was excited to get the extra HP over my 2002 GT. My friend even ordered a supercharger for his 2002 GT just so he could still compete with me. But alas the 07 feels slower and too “refined” vs. the 02.

I think the throttle lag and maybe the horsepower being generated at higher RPM vs. my 02 are combining to make this car feel like less of a muscle car. I guess its similar to when I had to go from a 5L mustang to a 4.6L – the horsepower moved up towards the top and it felt less responsive.

OH, by the way I have been told that even when the Traction Control is turned off, its not fully off. Is this true?

This post started as a 4 page word document but I have trimmed it down, so here is what I am going to do in a nut shell unless anyone has any objections:

18” rims – note I DO have the new Tire Pressure transmitters in my stock 17” rims, so I wonder what the consequences of aftermarket rims will be.