Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

What octane to use?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 04:34 PM
Silencer06
2nd Gear Member

Location: Raised in Chicago; living near St. Louis in Troy, IL
Default What octane to use?

There may be a thread already started about this but I don't see one, so sorry if there is. I'm curious what the common thoughts are on using higher octane in the '06 GT and hope you'll oblige with your opinions....expert or not. In every car I've ever owned, the manuals always "recommend" using 87 octane...but I've ALWAYS used 92-93 octane for the added benefits and have had zero problems with it. However, the owners manual for my GT seems to read pretty adamantly in favor of using ONLY 87 octane, basically saying that's what the engine is designed for and there's no need to upgrade. I'm no gas expert but, despite what the manual says, I can't imagine that running 92 octane in it would be a bad thing! I haven't tried it yet though (the old "just in case paranoia"), and before I do, I'd like to know your opinions -- stay 87 as recommended or go 92 and keep the injectors clean(er)? And thanks!
Old 07-24-2006, 04:40 PM
darkfact
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: What octane to use?

i'm no gas expert either but from what i've read there's no real benefit to using higher octane fuel. if you're stock 87 should be just as good as 91/93, but if you've done some engine mods then normally a 93 octane retune will give you some benefit.
Old 07-24-2006, 04:43 PM
Silencer06
2nd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: darkfact

i'm no gas expert either but from what i've read there's no real benefit to using higher octane fuel. if you're stock 87 should be just as good as 91/93, but if you've done some engine mods then normally a 93 octane retune will give you some benefit.