Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Werring noise

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2007, 12:11 PM
Bob11

Default Werring noise

I am new to this and need education, I have a 06 GT all stock 300Hp I have had it for a year now, has about 10,000 mi on it. the thing is with all the new eletronics on this Iam unable to do much work. In the past when I started the car the werring noise was there, sounded like some kind of ram air or turbin sound, as I went faster it would get louder. What is the noise from? Wellnow it has stoped and only hear it no and then. also have a lower gas milage and stronger gas smell in the exaust.

Bob
Old 02-20-2007, 02:05 PM
scrmngt
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Werring noise

Sounds like warranty work to me...bring it back to the dealer and get it checked by the service dept.
Old 02-20-2007, 09:53 PM
LanceH
2nd Gear Member

I have the same problem and am scheduled to have a ride with the service manager tomorrow when I take her in for my first 3,000 mile service(oil change, tire rotation, and whatever else they do).

My noise is a bit different than yours though, I do call it a whirring noise, but it only happens when you are off the gas at about 40+MPH, hit the gas and it goes away.

I think it is driveshaft related, I am still not sure if we have a 1 or 2 piece shaft, it has been too nasty to crawl under the car and I still haven't gotten a decent response on these forums. Also did a search for "driveshaft" on here and didn't get anything useful.

What I do know is that it didn't start until a couple weeks ago when I finally got enough highway space to bury the speedometer for the first time...next day is when I noticed it.

My guess is that Ford has let a weak link slide by in this otherwise awesome car.

I'll let you know what I find out tomorrow.
Old 02-20-2007, 09:57 PM
acstone7
3rd Gear Member