Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

saleen s/c installation?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 04:55 AM
Hufenstang
4th Gear Member

Default saleen s/c installation?

Ive seen numurious posts saying its pretty easy and straightforward just takes a little time. I am just curious, i have some knowledge about an engine and i know what each part is... if i follow the instructions with the kit that come with it; i believe also have pictures. Can i install this with a buddy just by following the steps/pictures/instructions? i dont want to screw something up but i would also like to avoid an extra 1500 dollar bill.
Old 03-16-2007, 05:03 AM
Racefiend
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: saleen s/c installation?

I installed mine by myself. I got a hand to drop the SC assembly on the engine, though. It's pretty straight foward and the instructions are very thorough. Hopefully you won't run into broken and bent up parts like I did, that turned a one day project into a 2 week headache. The only deviation I suggest is when you mount the SC coolant reservoir. One of the mount points is where the battery ground used to go. Saleen tells you to put the ground ring terminal under the reservoir bracket and bolt the reservoir down. The terminal ring sits beween the paint and the plastic reservoir. As we know, neither paint nor plastic are conductive, so this is a bad idea. Mount the ring terminal on top of the reservoir bracket, that way the bolt head makes contact with the terminal ring and grounds it to the body. The ring terminal has a prong that positions it on the strut tower. You will either need to cut that prong off or notch the reservoir bracket for it.
Old 03-16-2007, 05:04 AM
ThisBlood147
5th Gear Member