Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Do Long Tube Headers make your car not emissions legal?

Old 03-17-2007, 10:48 PM
Redleg
1st Gear Member

Default Do Long Tube Headers make your car not emissions legal?

I know that changing some things on your exhaust (taking cats of X/H pipe) violate emissions. Do Long Tube Headers do the same thing? I was browsing, JBA's site and they say their LTHs are off road use only. Can anybody explain the science behind this one?
Old 03-17-2007, 10:52 PM
Menace
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Do Long Tube Headers make your car not emissions legal?

I don't see why they would change your emissions unless you removed the cats? The high-flow cats might increase your emissions. I'm no expert on the subject though.
Old 03-17-2007, 11:54 PM
Boostaddict
Former Sponsor

I believe there are no Longtube Headers for the 05+ GT that are CARB legal. This means that if they aren't CARB approved you may not pass emmisions depending on how strict the state or county you reside in is. However you may be able to pass emmissions in stirct states with a catted setup as you have a good chance of passing the sniffer test and some states just do a visual for cats. This is why though JBA and other header companies say offroad use only because without a CARB approval they have no way of saying they will pass for sure.

From our experience we have lots of customer though in California which is a very strict state that run Longtube headers not only on their S197's but also Cobras and GT and I haven't heard from any of them having a hard time passing emmisions. Again. It really comes down to how strict of an area you live in and who's doing the inspection. Hope that helps. Jared

ORIGINAL: Redleg