Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

HP Performance turbo kit

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2007, 07:49 PM
ThrottleJunkie

Default HP Performance turbo kit

I just recently picked up the latest issue of Mustangs and Fast Fords because I have always had a fond interest in Mustangs, and the S197's have really done it for me. In the issue, there's an advertisement for an HP Performance turbo kit capable of 700 horsepower. I'm not discrediting the ad, because I'm still new to Mustangs, but on their website it says that it will support up to 1000 hp (with upgraded turbo etc) while "retaining factory accessories." As far as I know, the stock bottom ends are only good for about 500 hp so what exactly do they mean by factory accessories. Does anyone have experience with this company? Good? Bad? It seems like a hell of a deal for $4500 if it's legit. Thanks in advance guys. I look forward to becoming part of the mustang community sometime next spring. Right now I'm just learning as much as I can about them until I'm ready to take the plunge.
Old 10-15-2007, 08:06 PM
shooter23
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: HP Performance turbo kit

Air Conditioning, Power Steering, etc, etc

Yes, its capable of supporting that much, becuase its a huge turbo...would take forever to spool...but you'd need to build the bottom end of your engine first. Just because the turbo can support it, doesnt mean your rotating assembly can. Need to get some forged internals in there, and you'll be good. Block can hold up to 1000HP...

Hope that helps!
Old 10-15-2007, 10:06 PM
ThrottleJunkie

That's what I figured. There aren't too many cars out there that can handle that kind of power in stock form. This is why I love American cars, though. You can build an entire forged rotating assembly for $1,500. I have a CAI and catback exhaust on my BMW and it cost me pretty much the same.