Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

rear gears and udp???

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2007, 04:05 PM
soldier boy
1st Gear Member

Default rear gears and udp???

Ok I am thinking of getting gears and UDP's got a few questions. First whats the big difference between the stock pulley and the steeda pulley that makes 10 more h.p... And as for the gears Im still new to this but the higher the gears go up the lower the gear is right? Like a 3.55 is a more top end compared to a 4.10 being more lower geared for faster acceleration right ? I am thinking about getting the 3.90 gears from brenspeed they are the most expensive though but I dont care I think that will be the right one but hey what do I know lol... I need some opinions and if you all have a guesstimate on install for either... Thanks guys Im still in iraq and plan on getting as soon as I get home which is really soon .....
Old 12-01-2007, 06:30 PM
baha
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: rear gears and udp???

Go with 4.10s and UDP and you won't regret it, trust me!

Just be safe out there.
Old 12-01-2007, 10:10 PM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

Yea, go with the 4.10s. They are so common. Very few people have 3.90s.

Gears and install should be in the $520-$600 range (thats for FRPP gears, not Motive -which are a bit cheaper).

I have not installed the UDPs but what I know: Lighter weight hence its easier for the engine to spin. I also believe it is a smaller diameter thus it turns alternator, etc at a slower speed, again less work for the motor. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Old 12-01-2007, 10:55 PM
duckbubbles
2nd Gear Member