SCT Tuner Question - MustangForums.com

Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

SCT Tuner Question

Reply

 
 
 
Old 04-09-2008, 01:26 PM
  #1  
craezjo
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 352
Default SCT Tuner Question

i had an sct x2 that i bought when i had my 06 v6, and before i sold it i put the stock tune back on it. i was wondering if i can still use it on my new car 07 gt. i remember i had to give the 4 digit pcm code for tuner and wasn't sure if i had to get a new one or if i can still use the same one.
craezjo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:34 PM
  #2  
acascianelli
5th Gear Member
 
acascianelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 4,409
Default RE: SCT Tuner Question

Yes, you can reuse it. You'll need to get your new calibration code.
acascianelli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:38 PM
  #3  
craezjo
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 352
Default RE: SCT Tuner Question

so all i would have to do is tell doug at bama that it needs a new code with the tune or will i have to send it to him.
craezjo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:44 PM
  #4  
Dex
5th Gear Member
 
Dex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,257
Default RE: SCT Tuner Question

well you now have a GT not a V6. You will need so get a whole new tune with a new PCM code. A v6 tune wont work for a v8
Dex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:08 PM
  #5  
craezjo
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 352
Default RE: SCT Tuner Question

so do i have to send it to bama and have them reprogram the actual tuner with the new code or can they reprogram it in the new tune.
craezjo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 11:54 AM
  #6  
acascianelli
5th Gear Member
 
acascianelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 4,409
Default RE: SCT Tuner Question

No, all you need to do is call and give them the new code and they can email you a new tune file. You can upload the tune to your XCal yourself.
acascianelli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Luke9222
4.6L General Discussion
19
10-22-2015 11:55 PM
kmad61
Tuner Central
0
09-18-2015 05:02 PM
04stangman
2005-2014 Mustangs
4
09-17-2015 01:45 PM
nboost
5.0L GT S550 Tech
7
09-16-2015 05:35 AM
Daddys Girls GTs
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
3
09-14-2015 08:46 PM

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory