Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Are all Tunes created equal??

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2008, 08:38 PM
blkonblkgt

Default Are all Tunes created equal??

Hi All

I recently bought a CAI and an XCAL2 for my 08 GT. I got it for a really good price so I said what the heck.The CAI is made by DeMolet (Tunable Induction). It's alright but I will be changing it. Anyways... I'm running a 91 octane tune that DeMolet sent me and it's okay but not great. I noticed it seems to be running a little rich(no smoke that I've noticed but strong exhaust smell), it bogs down pretty bad under 3000 RPMs but once it hits 3000+ I can notice a decent power difference. Could it but a bad tune? Should I go with someone like Brenspeed? I've heard nothing but good things about them. Could it be that I just need to adjust the tune DeMolet sent me? I'm really new to tuning any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!!!!
JC
08 Black GT
Old 07-04-2008, 08:43 PM
mygt500
Multi-Tasking Moderator!

Default RE: Are all Tunes created equal??

IMO Brendspeed and BAMA are the best from mail order tunes! Hard to say if your tune is bad as the best way to diagnose a problem with a tune is to do some data logging and get on the dyno. Welcome to the forum and others will chime in with their experience... Happy Independence Day to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am getting drunk soon as I just got canceled from the hospital tonight
Old 07-04-2008, 08:54 PM
blkonblkgt

Right on! Thanks for the info. There is an SCT dealer here in town, that's probably gonna be the easiest way of getting it to run the way it should.Another question..... after CAI and tune, would what be the best bang for my buck as far as HP gains without adding a supercharger? I appreciate thehelp.

JC
08 Black GT
Old 07-04-2008, 09:21 PM
dschmink
3rd Gear Member