Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

S197 Turbo Fans

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2008, 12:45 PM
2digits
1st Gear Member

Default S197 Turbo Fans

Like many Mustang owners, I love my car. When I realized I have a problem I want to go "faster"

So the game plan is to start off big in the performance department, and anti-up to today’s youth culture, and Turbo my Mustang.

I'm still a novice tuner, and would love suggestions in that regard; that aren't listed as the following:
"Buy a Paxton supercharger instead"

Personally I plan on owning my GT for a very long time, and would like to take most if not all the precautions to make sure the install is done right, and that I have no long term problems.

So I was wondering what I will need to look into for a kit, and other components I will "need". Such as a Pyrometer/ BoostGauge.

My main question revolves around reliability. more so then making massive RWHP.

I am planning on running 7-9lbs of boost but would like to make sure that my car can "handle" up to 10-13lbs of boost. Just as a safety precaution, and because knowing me I'll get use to 400 + hp real quick.

Depending on the advise I get from this thread I am ether planning on subletting the install to a Tunershop, or tackling this task with a 3rd year mechanic.
Old 08-03-2008, 01:25 PM
Simon1
5th Gear Member

Default RE: S197 Turbo Fans

Depending what kit you get, there are some things you need to think about.

1. Do you have enough money to replace you motor if it blows?

2. Have you considered the supporting modifications? Clutch-suspension-tires-driveline-tranny-gauges?