Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Exhaust Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 11:28 AM
CaL5TaNg

Default Exhaust Questions

Hey all, I'm relatively new to the Mustang world and I just bought a 2007 Mustang GT. Anyway, I'm considering replacing the stock exhaust with an axel back system and maybe and O/R pipe. However, I would like to know what the problems of running an O/R pipe are besides your car not being able to pass emissions inspections; like does it harm your engine or anything like that? Also, what's the main difference b/w an O/R X and an O/R H pipe, cause I've hearddifferent comparisons between both of them? Once again, I'm new to Mustangs so I'm here to learn. Thanks.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:56 AM
matyellott
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Exhaust Questions

slp loundmouths and an cross pipe, never had an issue.
Old 08-06-2008, 01:03 PM
MustangGT0405
5th Gear Member

No issues running an off road pipe other than the emissions stuff, and it is louder. I had one on my 99 GT for 5 years.

As far as X or H. I am an H guy.

X pipes generally make a little more power, but the sound tends to be a little higher and raspier. An H give the car a nice low rumble like the classic muscle.

It is really personal preference.

I would say check out youtube for different combo's but I think the sound quality stinks. Better off to hit a car show or local mustang club and listen first hand.
Old 08-06-2008, 01:05 PM
tonkpils555666sas
4th Gear Member

x pipes and h pipe are different in their sound and purpose. h pipes are a lot deeper tone where as x pipes are a little more higher pitched raspy tone... x pipes are used to get more hp than torque where as h pipes is vice versa...