Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Need some suggestions.

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2008, 09:27 AM
Mac Disaster

Default Need some suggestions.

Hey,

I have been doing some shopping for aftermarket parts for my 2005 GT and i wanted to join the forum here to see what your opinions are on the choices i have been thinking about. Who better to ask than Mustang owners right?

Anyway, As of now i have a K&N cold air intake, Flowmaster exhaust (The super 44's in the 05 Mustang Kit) as well as BBK long tube headers and the matching X-pipe with cats, good ole Ontario emission standards that mean nothing.

So i have been thinking a while about getting a throttle body and tuner and i have so far been leaning towards the BBK 62mm throttle body and the SCT Livewire Tuner. I have read on American Muscle that the K&N intake will not fit on the BBK throttle body, though the tech at American Muscle said i may be able to heat the rubber with hot water to stretch it and make it fit.

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts? ideas?

Thanks. Geoff.
Old 12-24-2008, 09:39 AM
jahudso2
4th Gear Member

Welcome to the forums! The consensus is that throttle bodies do not gain hp on our cars and most of the time just cause problems. If you want to get a tuner, look to www.brenspeed.com Bamachips, both of which are site sponsors. Since you already have long tubes, your best bet might just be to get a dyno tune with the money you would have spent on the tuner and throttle body and that will probably maximize your hp gains.
Old 12-24-2008, 09:44 AM
Heavyg72
3rd Gear Member

Definitely go with the tuner as you'll see some great improvements as well. As mentioned above, I would pass on the TB and maybe look at gears instead. Some of us are running 450+rwhp on the stock throttle body so I think your money would be better spent in other areas.
Old 12-24-2008, 09:48 AM