Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

that beautiful gargle

Old 12-24-2008, 02:30 PM
JHarrison92

Default that beautiful gargle

i'm kinda new to mods but as i see it, there are 4 parts involved in the beastly gargle of a 05+ stang. 1. camshaft (thumpr), 2. long tube headers, 3. x pipe, 4. muffler. now all that is expensive. what would be the best combo? cam+long tubes? or cam+ muffler? i just dont know. any ideas?
Old 12-24-2008, 06:36 PM
2007VistaBlueGT
2nd Gear Member

Cams are going to give you a lopey idle. If you just want to make the factory "gargle" louder then exhaust is where your budget should be spent, however keep in mind that for the money or "gargle" you're not going to get an immense amount of power for the money.
Old 12-24-2008, 06:42 PM
CaliforniaSpecial631
1st Gear Member

all of what Vista said is very true. if sound is all your really looking for then an axle-back or axle-back/h/x-pipe combo is what your lookin for. if your really looking for more gargle then a muffler delete might be the best bet.
Old 12-24-2008, 06:51 PM
howarmat
s197 Junkie

First try some Borla/FRPP stingers....see how you like that. Then go with o/r h pipe and possibly LTs or just the new h pipe

That should get a great sound and all for less than 600.

Cams are 600-700 alone, plus 500-1000 install, plus 600 for CAI/Tuning for the cams
Old 12-24-2008, 06:54 PM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Exactly what you do with the exhaust system will affect the "character" of the sound. An "H" pipe tends to give more of the low-pitch rumble. An "X" pipe suppresses a lot of the heaviest bass rumble and gives you a "smoother" but higher-pitched note instead. Just to get you started down the road you want to take, which kind of sound do you want?