Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Full exhaust system

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2009, 02:20 PM
DarkJFMan
2nd Gear Member

Default Full exhaust system

I bought an 09 mustang GT about 3 months ago and I'm looking into redoing the full exhaust to get rid of the ugly sounding stock.

Main purpose is to get the loudest sound possible with maintaining as much performance as I can. I'm looking into these three items...

http://www.americanmuscle.com/bbk-ch...ders-2005.html

http://www.americanmuscle.com/pypes-...r-catback.html

http://www.americanmuscle.com/pypes-...-or-xpipe.html

I'm not that good with car parts, so my first question regarding these ones is would I have any problems installing them together? If not can I get my exhaust to sound pretty loud especially having the O/R mid pipes and mid-muffler on the cat backs. I asked around and was told they would definitely get my car with a loud deep sound.

So what do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-15-2009, 02:47 PM
gman73
5th Gear Member

Generally an o/r x will sound raspier almost like a race car were the o/r h will have a deeper muscle car tone. Shorter headers may give you a little bit of hp around 5-10. I have read a few post saying shorties actually made the car a little quieter. IMO skip the shorties and save for l/t headers.
To get the idea of how different set-ups sound, go to mustang or car meets and listen to them in person. Youtube and the like are okay, but sound quality is limited by recording devices. My car on youtube is a prime example. I used a fuji digital camera, so the recording wasn't ideal. Sounds okay on youtube, but awesome in person. When listening to youtube clips, wear head/earphones.
Old 06-15-2009, 03:32 PM
gman73
5th Gear Member