Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Short Throw: The Guts vs The Full Monty

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 11:21 AM
Xibar
1st Gear Member

Default Short Throw: The Guts vs The Full Monty

Hey Dudes, trying to think of the best way to ask this...

Looking to upgrade to short-throw, as all I've read on here says that ANYTHING is better than the stock shifter, and I'm looking forward to finding that out for myself. The stock is definitely too long between gears, and it bugs me to have to reach slightly when I occasionally use 5th. It also bugs me that the stick could probably be shorter.

I've seen the FRPP/Roush short-throw that (I assume) changes out the "guts" of the tranny as well as the actual shift stick, making it stick up even higher than the stock.

I know I'm new at most of this, but it seems like you get better perforance at the sacrifice of looks. And that short-throw looks kind of ugly with just a basic metal with a round plastic white ball on top.

I know about the physics of a lever, and how less force is needed for a longer arm, equating to a greater moment, but is it really necessary to stick up so high to make up for the shorter shift down below?

I only ask this because I was looking at the Roush short throw that only consists of the "guts" (shifter body and arm, I believe) down below, and retains the stock shift stick. The stock stick LOOKS better to me, so if I could I'd like to go that route, or even find something SHORTER than that.

This one...

http://store.roushperformance.com/detail.aspx?ID=1177

So if anyone is still with me after reading all that, can I go this route, or will the stick be more of a pain in the butt to quickly shift on demand? I really appreciate anyone's input on this, as I'd love a short throw without a shift **** sticking up 8 feet from the center column.