Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

2006 Mustang GT High Flow Cats Smog! CALIFORNIA!

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2014, 04:15 PM
GCCBrian
1st Gear Member

Default 2006 Mustang GT High Flow Cats Smog! CALIFORNIA!

Hey guys,

I got a pair of Flowmaster Outlaws Paired with my Pypes offroad X pipe and it sounds great but is obnoxious! I want to quiet them down, and pass the test for California's smog. Now yes I know these cats are not 50 state legal, no EO code, etc. I know that, that isn't the issue I am going to have.

I personally know the smog tech at the smog station, and I want high flow cats regardless to quiet down my exhaust.

The new California Smog is as follows:
- Drive your car up on the dyno
- Visual Inspection (Stock Airbox, Cats, etc)
- Scanning your OBDII Port for Stock Tune, No CEL, etc

"Due to begin mid 2014; Model year 2000 and newer vehicles will no longer require the tailpipe portion of the smog inspection."

"Late model vehicles will be administered the new On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) Inspection System (OIS) instead of having their exhaust emission analyzed while being driven on a dynamometer. The existing visual and functional test portions of the smog inspection will still apply."

"The implementation of AB 2289 is expected to reduce the time and cost of the smog check. The program will now take better advantage of a vehicle's OBD II technology by eliminating tailpipe testing and instead using the vehicle's own OBD II emissions monitoring system."

The visual isn't a problem for me, the only problem I have is with the state computer and my ECU. Everything else isn't an issue. I can only pass with a 6/7 anything less is an automatic FAIL!

This is what I have planned,