Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Systemic Issues with 05-?? Mustangs ??

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2017, 08:17 PM
427Impala
1st Gear Member

Default Systemic Issues with 05-?? Mustangs ??

Newbie here. A fellow owner (05 GT) told me of 2 things.

1 The 'feature' where the battery will go dead if let the car sits to long, related to Shaker radio??

2 lower ball joints having short life.

Thoughts?? Other systemic issues??

Thnx

Joey in VA 06 GT conv

BTW, what is the range of related Mustangs, 05-09?? 14??
Old 02-23-2017, 07:41 AM
Simon1
5th Gear Member

Any car that sits too long will lose its battery. Butt there has been an issue in our cars that seems to be related to the battery.

And lower ball joints...really? Non issue.
Old 02-23-2017, 10:40 AM
flash_xx
3rd Gear Member

People blame the shaker for the battery, but mine came with the non shaker radio and still did it, turned out to be a weak alternator. Bought a 200 amp one and nver had another dead battery in 8 years.

The ball joints are fine. I replaced my lower control arms for the GT500 after 50,000 miles because the rear bushings were broken and the ball joints were just fine.

The 05 to 06 have an issue with water leaking into the passenger side and damaging the SJB on the kickpanel.

Front seats levers at the back to move seat back forward break

From 05 to early 08 the sparkplugs can break off when taking them out.

Airbag recall

creaks, groans, rattles all ove the place.

Still wouldn't drive anything else. These are small annoyances on an otherwise bulletproof car.
Old 02-23-2017, 12:28 PM
howarmat
s197 Junkie

mostly small stuff as mentioned above. the 07+ fixed alot of the small things.

I cant think of anything major other than the plugs really. A couple TSBs but the dealer would address those like with the airbag.
Old 02-23-2017, 12:39 PM
Gravydog316
2nd Gear Member