Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Strange tranny/clutch noise during shifts

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 12:02 AM
sl8anic
1st Gear Member

Default Strange tranny/clutch noise during shifts

Hey guys,
Just got a new 06 GT convertable with a standard tranny and perhaps an odd "issue". I'm new to Mustangs and I'm not entirely sure how it's supposed to sound when you're shifting, so here it is.

There's a "clunking" noise coming from the shifter (tranny?) area almost every time I shift into 2nd gear and up or down, unless I baby the clutch in. It's very obvious when the RPMs and gear box speeds aren't quite matched, i.e. when the car rocks back and forth a little. Not grinding or anything, just every time (well, almost) you shift - and it's not 100% smooth, with the car "stalling" a little - you hear that clunking noise...

I test drove a V6 version of the car and I don't remember hearing it, or perhaps I missed it. Any takers? Thanks!

AD
Old 01-10-2006, 12:47 AM
Blackness
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Strange tranny/clutch noise during shifts

The Tremec is noisy...The sound of a tough tranny!
Old 01-10-2006, 05:23 AM
DAVE05GT
2nd Gear Member

I have/had this problem too, but when they replaced the rear end housing everything got a lot tighter. You could just shift at 5000+ rpms everytime and you'll never notice it!
Old 01-10-2006, 11:23 PM
sl8anic
1st Gear Member

Hmmm, rear housing... Doesn't sound too good... Is it worth taking it to the dealer? Kinda' sucks too, it's a brand new car. Now, do you suppose it's like that with majority of 05-06 GT's?

AD
Old 01-12-2006, 09:53 PM
05ROUSHER
2nd Gear Member