Motor Swap Section Tech and Follow-My-Build Threads for members looking to put a different engine in their Mustang

LS heads on a windsor

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 03:47 AM
toybreaker
2nd Gear Member

Default LS heads on a windsor

Ok I have seen pictures of a 302 short block with a set of LQ9 heads on it.
Never seen any proof that any combo like this has run before.

I am a machinist by trade. Have access to some really good machinery for fabrication. If there are any threads or other info that could help me along with this I would appreciate the guidance. So far I have seen that the heads pretty much bolt up, pushrods don't have any crazy angles (big block chevy's have more angle to them than this engine will) My biggest issue is going to be coolant from the heads to the thermostat and fabricating an intake manifold.
It might just be easier to do a Inglese style 8 throat intake with fuel rails.
Fuel injection May or may not be the fuel delivery system... depends on the intake manifold.....

More or less power than a clevor?

I am going to say more, for 2 reasons.
1. More efficient combustion chamber,
2. Higher velocity port design.

Bench racing to start now.
Old 10-24-2012, 06:46 AM
pascal
S197 Section Modder-ator

Haven't seen this combo running either...
But why mess with this when you can get a set of AFR or Trick Flow heads designed for the 302 with the engineering already done for you?
Besides, those aftermarket ones will flow better I'm sure.
Also, valves to pistons clearance?

Lastly, if you have to go GM, why not the LS6 heads?
More better than the truck ones.
Old 10-24-2012, 03:41 PM
toybreaker
2nd Gear Member

I have a set of LQ9's. They were almost free and only need some springs to match the cam I have yet to buy.
I like taking the road not traveled sometimes, and this would make my car totally unique. Hybrid Ford/GM 408 with N2O....
I plan on using some LS pistons (they will be custom to maximize the quench at .040)