Mustang News, Concepts, Rumors & Discussion Did you see that Mustang?! Have you heard Ford's next move? Come inside.

The Quality of Ford

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2004, 08:35 PM
hesitant_pony

Default The Quality of Ford

Hey everyone,

I'm new here so pleaes excuse me ignorance. I'm a college student who has been driving his stereotypical Acura Integra for a few years. Soon, it will be time for me to get a new car and the 2005 Ford Mustang happened to catch my eye. I love the retro-futuristic design. One of my greatest concerns is the quality of the car. Ever since I researched cars to choose for my 1st, I've only heard the Mustang, or rather, Ford, receive heavy flak. These insults/criticisms have no doubt reached Ford perhaps they started raising their standards, or atleast to my common sense. Anyways, I just would like to ask you guys how the current Ford quality build is in their cars, take the 2004 mustang for example. Yellowy headlamp covers? Rattly interiors? Bad plastics? Poor construction? Faulty electronics? Dependable engine? Please don't think that I'm talking down on the Mustang, I just want to know the answers from those with first-hand experience. In advanced, thanks!
Old 03-24-2004, 08:59 PM
Brian18034
1st Gear Member

Default RE: The Quality of Ford

Well, I have an '03 and haven't run into any quality or dependability issues. The thing you have to remember is the '05 will be a first model year in a lot or areas, they may re-use some of the old "established" parts/ systems but many will be first run. The motor is the 4.6 but its using 3 valve heads, the wheelbase is longer, the interior is brand new, dash etc, some of the creature comforts are new (multi color display option). It could be a nightmare BUT... If they do half as well on the mustang with testing as they did for the all new '04 F150, life will be good. I have heard very few complaints for the totally new redesigned truck.
Old 03-25-2004, 02:32 AM
roundman
5th Gear Member