Mustang News, Concepts, Rumors & Discussion Did you see that Mustang?! Have you heard Ford's next move? Come inside.

2010 v6 power adders

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2010, 01:35 PM
JNash

Red face 2010 v6 power adders

What's up everybody??? I'm a little bit mad, because I recently bought a 2010 V6, which I love, but now 2011 V6's come with 305hp.

Some people say that the 4.0L is better, because it' s a stronger engine, and a lot of power can be added. I need a little help, because besides headers, pulleys, and gears (3.73, or 4.10), I don't know how to add more hp.

What other power adders can I add??

*= I've seen 3 pony's with backfire problems from those "Diablo Sport Perf. Tuners"... so, I am not leaning towards them.

**= I like the idea of a Magnaflow Double Exhaust, or any other exhaust, but I heard that, if you don't install a supercharger, the pony is going to lose hp, instead of gaining it.

Please comment and give advice since I'm kinda new to this Mustang world.
Old 06-03-2010, 01:55 PM
jayed53
2nd Gear Member

If by backfire you mean popping, that is exhaust related and indicative of a muffler delete without a resonator. As far as power adders, the first thing you need to do is get an intake/tuner as that will be your cheapest and largest gain of any mod. From there, there are a host of things you can do. On my list would be Underdrive pully, headers/xpipe, aluminum drive shaft, and gears. To be honest though, dollar for HP, you cant beat a blower. If I were you I would save money for a blower if performance is what you are seeking/
Old 06-03-2010, 01:57 PM
MOOK3456
4th Gear Member

The only way you will get comparable #'s to the '11 v6 is with a supercharger or turbo. Well, also nitrous could get you there in bursts but it's cheaper than the SC or turbo.